Kristen Swingle, MS

Kristen Swingle is responsible for the daily operations of the organization as well as developing and implementing C-Path’s strategy and goals. She manages the organization’s finances, human resources, facilities, information technology and personnel.

Before joining C-Path, Mrs. Swingle served as Vice President of Operations for CBR, a part of California Cryobank Life Sciences, where she oversaw stem cell manufacturing and quality operations and served as the site head for the Tucson facility which houses a stem cell laboratory, cryobank and call center operations. She brings nearly two decades’ worth of experience in the medical and molecular sciences industry to bear in her role as Chief Operating Officer and currently serves as Chairwoman of AZBio Board of Directors.

Swingle holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology from Northern Arizona University and a Master of Science, Medical Sciences from Texas A&M University.

Mary Teeling, MD Pharm

Mary Teeling is a specialist pharmaceutical physician with over 30 years’ experience in the areas of pharmacology and pharmaceutical medicine. She developed the Master of Science (MSc) in Pharmaceutical Medicine in 2004, while working in Trinity College Dublin, and was course director up until 2018. As assistant professor in the School of Medicine in Trinity College Dublin, her main research interest was in the area of pharmacoepidemiology, including prescribing patterns, influences on prescribing, quality indicators, rational prescribing, and pharmacovigilance. Currently, she is adjunct professor of pharmaceutical medicine within the department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics.
She also worked as a part-time medical advisor to the National Medicines Information Centre (NMIC) for 17 years up until 2018, where her role involved writing therapeutics bulletins and newsletters for healthcare professionals and providing education on safe prescribing for doctors in training. Prior to working in Trinity College Dublin and NMIC, she worked in the Irish Medicines Board (now Health Products Regulatory Authority) for 12 years and was its medical director for six years. She was the Irish member of the EU Committee for Human Medicinal Products (CHMP) and served as its vice-chair for three years.

Teeling was part of the educational team that developed the higher speciality training (HST) programme in pharmaceutical medicine with the Royal College of Physicians in Ireland, which achieved approval from the Medical Council of Ireland in 2016. She is the current national specialty director (NSD) for the programme. She is a member of the NDA Regulatory Advisory Board, which is composed of other former EU regulatory and industry experts ( She is an honorary consultant for the review panel of the WHO Uppsala Monitoring Centre (UMC) involved in safety signal identification.

Caitriona O’Driscoll, PhD, BSc Pharm

Caitriona O’Driscoll is a Pharmacist, and Professor and Chair of Pharmaceutics in the School of Pharmacy in University College Cork (UCC). She completed her PhD studies in Pharmaceutical Sciences in Trinity College Dublin (TCD) and undertook a sabbatical in the Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry at the University of Kansas, USA. She was a senior lecturer in the School of Pharmacy at TCD prior to her appointment to UCC in 2003. She is a Board member of the Irish Health Products Regulatory Authority and is a founding member and Chair of Regulatory Science Ireland.

Professor O’Driscoll’s research strategy is translational in nature and product driven. The research is focused on the design, formulation and characterisation of biomimetic drug delivery systems incorporating the products of the pharmaceutical biotechnology industry such as peptide/protein type drugs and nucleic acids. To accelerate translation into the clinic, nano-sized drug delivery constructs are engineered to maintain stability during processing and storage, and to ensure safe and effective use by patients.

John Hegarty, PhD, DSc

John Hegarty has over 40 years of experience in research, education, and university leadership in Ireland and the US.

He was President/Provost of Trinity College Dublin from 2001 to 2011 at a time of significant transformation of research and organizational structure. He was Professor of Laser Physics at Trinity from 1986. Previously, he spent 10 years in the US carrying out research in photonics in Bell Labs NJ and the University of Wisconsin Madison. He has published about 130 peer-reviewed papers in photonics, and co-founded Eblana Photonics. He served on many national advisory committees. He has a PhD in Physics from the National University of Ireland Galway, a higher doctorate(DSc) from the University of Dublin, and honorary doctorates from University College Dublin, Queens University Belfast, and University of Ulster.

More recently, he co-founded Innovation Advisory Partners advising on education, research, and innovation policy. He is Chair of the Irish Times Trust and a member of the Irish Times Board. He is also a member of the Fulbright Ireland Board, the Hugh Lane Gallery Board, and chairs the Translation Medicine Institute based in St James’s Hospital.